Superseded. xAI now points new work at Grok 4.7 → This record stays for anyone still running Grok 4.6.
xAI · Grok
Grok 4.6
xAI's prior flagship for coding and chat, building on Grok 4.5 with more emphasis on long-running agents and interactive or visual work, now superseded by Grok 4.7 but still listed with unchanged pricing and limits.
Start here
- What this helps you do
- Decide whether Grok 4.6 is the right model for a job you have, or one to leave alone.
- What you leave with
- A plain read of what Grok 4.6 is for, what to avoid giving it, and the facts behind that.
- What to check before trusting it
- Current events require search tools; the base model has no live-event access without them.
Treat this as a migration entry. If you are choosing a Grok model today the comparison is 4.7 against 4.6 on your own long-running or agentic task, not a fresh evaluation of 4.6 alone.
Use it for
- Long-running agentic coding and software engineering
- Turning a broad product idea into a working first version
- Visual and interactive project work
It is no longer the model xAI recommends for coding and chat; a new build should compare it against Grok 4.7 rather than start here.
Effort without the jargon
The task is long-running or agentic enough that verification and self-testing behaviour actually change the outcome.
Advanced recordCost, limits, privacy and operations
Grok 4.6 keeps 4.5's headline input and output price and context window, but cached input costs more; use the published table as a planning input, then verify whether the longer-running agent behaviour is worth the migration.
- API cost
- Officially disclosedxAI prices Grok 4.6 in the same two context tiers as 4.5: US$2 input and US$6 output per million tokens below 200,000 tokens, doubling to US$4 and US$12 at or above it. Cached input is more expensive than on 4.5: US$0.50 below 200,000 tokens and US$1.00 at or above it, versus US$0.30 and US$0.60 on Grok 4.5. Tool and other service charges can be separate.
- Context window
- Officially disclosed500,000 tokens
- Maximum output
- Not disclosedNot disclosed in the cited record
- Knowledge cutoff
- Officially disclosed1 February 2026
- Recorded inputs
- Not enumerated in cited record
- Recorded output
- Text
Data handling is a product decision
Officially disclosedxAI says API inputs and outputs are not used for training without permission and are retained for 30 days by default for abuse audit. Team-wide ZDR removes storage but disables stateful features.
Operational constraints
- Current events require search tools; the base model has no live-event access without them.
- Zero Data Retention disables stateful Responses, Files, Collections, Batch and deferred completions.
- The stable and latest aliases can move; use a dated version where workflow consistency requires it.
- The cited record does not enumerate image or other non-text input support for this model, unlike the explicit image note on Grok 4.5.
Record details
- Evidence readiness
- informational
- Guidance confidence
- moderate
- Evidence revision
- grok-46@v1
Unknown means the cited official record does not disclose a safe value. It is not an estimate. Prices are provider list prices in USD where stated and can change before this record's review date.
Keep the evidence separate
xAI's model catalogue now recommends Grok 4.7 for coding and chat and calls it the most capable model it has built; Grok 4.6 remains listed and available with its original pricing and limits unchanged.
No sufficiently useful independent note has been added yet. That absence is not filled with our guess.
No Human Bit result is claimed; use this as evaluation guidance only.
Not scheduled
No Human Bit result is claimed for this model yet.